A Long Walk Does Wonders!

“Walking is a man’s best medicine”

– Hippocrates (c. 460 – c. 370 BC)

 

Have you ever had one of those days where your head is riddled with uncontrollable doubts? And it almost feels as if your head is going to explode?

A few days ago, I had so many thoughts about my previous second stage job interviews. I kept reconstructing how it went and the ways I could have improved. I was beating myself up. I was so overwhelmed by these doubts that I had withdrawn myself from my friends and family; even though they gave me advice about being positive, I just couldn’t see how I could. I was so consumed with my doubts, I believed I was worthless and unemployable.

In order to break free from this vicious circle of doubt and self-loathing, I had to rationalise my thoughts. So I decided to take a walk. 

I slipped on my comfy running trainers and progressed down the road. The London city air did well as I created a pros and cons list of what would happen if I got either of the jobs. I also identified  what would happen if I did not get the job, and what step I would take next in securing my future.

Taking this walk had helped me realise that life still goes on. Even though I had doubts about these job interviews, I couldn’t let it hinder my future. At the end of the day, I still had a job – it’s not a job I had studied for, but it was still a job to provide income. I just had to be patient, and wait and see what the future would offer.

Once I got home, I had a clear head and positive outlook on whatever the response was going to be from the interviews. So when I looked at my email, I saw that I received an email from one of the interviews. In that email, they told me that I didn’t get the job. And you know what? I was okay, if anything I was relieved. 

So as I was getting ready for my shift, I received a call from a number that was unknown to me.

I picked up the call and they informed me…

That I got the job!

 

That’s all for now,

OhSoRochellie x

Links:

I have provided a couple of links to spark your interest in the power of walking:

http://www.calmclinic.com/anxiety/treatment/walking-works

https://www.adaa.org/living-with-anxiety/managing-anxiety/exercise-stress-and-anxiety

 

 

Leave a Reply

